About Us


Accreditation and Memberships

AHU Online is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges and by the Accrediting Association of Seventh-day Adventist Schools, Colleges, and Universities. Several of our programs also host local chapters of honor societies.  AHU Online is approved by the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (NC-SARA). NC-SARA enables the University to offer distance education in the member states.  NC-SARA does not govern professional licensing board approval for any courses or programs leading to professional licensure.  AHU Online cannot guarantee whether the course or programs meets requirements for professional licensure in your state. Students should consult with the appropriate licensing agency or board in their state or territory—including states participating in NC-SARA—prior to beginning their course of study.

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)

SACSCOC is the regional body that accredits degree-granting institutions of higher education in the Southern states. It is the body that unifies the values and practices of a diverse group of institutions in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North and South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Latin America and in other international locales. All the institutions award associate, baccalaureate, master’s, or doctoral degrees.

SACSCOC has six core values:

  • Integrity
  • Continuous Quality Improvement
  • Peer Review/Self-regulation
  • Accountability
  • Student Learning
  • Transparency

AdventHealth University is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award Certificates, Associate’s, Baccalaureate’s, Master’s, and Doctoral degrees.  Contact SACSCOC at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of AdventHealth University.

Note: SACSCOC is to be contacted only if there is evidence that appears to support an institution’s significant non-compliance with a requirement or standard.

Accrediting Association of Seventh-day Adventist Schools, Colleges, and Universities (AAA)

The Accrediting Association of Seventh-day Adventist Schools, Colleges, and Universities (AAA) is responsible for accrediting all graduate and tertiary educational institutions and programs owned by Seventh-day Adventist Church entities. AAA examines the quality of each institution’s programs and the implementation of the Seventh-day Adventist philosophy of education to maintain the unity and mission of the Church.

12501 Old Columbia Pike
Silver Spring, Maryland 20904

Phone: (301) 680-5068
Fax: (301) 622-9627

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)

The baccalaureate degree program in nursing at AdventHealth University is accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education, 655 K Street NW, Suite 750, Washington, DC 20001, 202-887-6791.

Officially recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education as a national accreditation agency, the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE) is an autonomous accrediting agency, contributing to the improvement of the public’s health. CCNE ensures the quality and integrity of baccalaureate, graduate, and residency programs in nursing. CCNE serves the public interest by assessing and identifying programs that engage in effective educational practices. As a voluntary, self-regulatory process, CCNE accreditation supports and encourages continuing self-assessment by nursing programs and supports continuing growth and improvement of collegiate professional education and nurse residency programs.

Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) Nursing Honor Society

AHU Online’s nursing programs are members of the Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) nursing honor society. STTI’s mission is to celebrate nursing excellence through service, leadership, and scholarship and to advance world health. The honor society was founded in 1922 by a group of six nurses at what is now called Indiana University School of Nursing.

Membership in STTI is by invitation only and there are 520 or so chapters at more than 700 institutions around the world.

Lambda Nu National Honors Society

Students in AHU Online’s Radiologic and Imaging Sciences programs are eligible to become members of Lambda Nu National Honors Society. The honor society aims to foster the highest levels of academic scholarship, recognize excellent scholarship, and promote research in the radiologic and imaging sciences. Invitation to the honors society is by invitation from a local chapter.

Contact an Admissions Coordinator today for more information